top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalie Eskew

When the hard becomes good


Eyes above the waves.

God, sustain me.

Lord help me.


3 phrases that have been on a loop in my head and heart for the past 18 months… if not longer. It’s been one thing after the other and whether you know my “things” or not doesn’t matter because I bet you have your “things” too.


The hard. The behind closed doors things. The silent tears tracking down your cheeks. The bills you don’t know how to pay. The chronic pain. The broken relationship. The loneliness. The feeling like no one can possibly understand.


Here’s what I’ve learned in my hard:

Your prayers don’t have to be big or detailed or fancy. “God sustain me”, “Help me”, “Lord”… those are enough. He hears you and He sees you. And when you feel like you have nothing, He can and will give you His Presence. It’s one of the biggest blessings of my life and it’s come from one of the hardest seasons. The feeling of closeness to my God. The realization that I am not alone. That I am seen and heard and loved beyond all measure. The truth that He in fact came down to Heaven for ME (and you). That while I’m treading water, He will not let me drown. While I have no strength, I have His. That while I can’t see anything but the storm, He knows the glory to come.


And then, because I’m desperately clinging to His hope and goodness, He stills my heart. He shows me His work in the land of the living. He clears the cobwebs from my eyes and shows me the beauty of what He’s doing… in the midst of what seems dark, there is so much light. The light does shine in the darkness and the darkness does not overcome it. You can’t quench His light. Your circumstances will not defeat His glory shining forth. And even if your circumstances stay dark, He stays light. He is God with us. God with you and me and we know that one day the hard won’t be hard anymore.


Eyes above the waves on Jesus.

God sustain me and help me know your Presence.

Lord help me and open my eyes to see what you see.


Thank you for changing me and loving me enough to not let me stay the same. Your way is the best way even if I don’t feel it yet. But in the moments I do, I truly fall to my knees in gratitude that you care enough for me to show me your glory.

18 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

A year ago today

I have been nervously anticipating today... this season. What will the waves of grief be like? Will I reflect in gratitude? Will I see how God carries me still? Can I humbly accept whatever He gives o

Lord willing

I typically share on Instagram and Facebook and copy it to this blog. But sometimes I forget and then, all of a sudden, it seems my blog has missed a lot. A lot. March 25th, we found out we were expec

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page