top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalie Eskew

There are two sides to every story


I've debated even sharing this because I don't want to be dubbed a "conspiracy theorist". But, I have a few thoughts and I know I'm not alone. This is not meant to be political in any way, simply to get us thinking. I fear that we have become so lazy that we simply do as we are told and don't make informed decisions, just because it's easier. And I'm not pointing fingers at others, I'm calling myself out. Just the other day, I told my husband that I guess I just didn't expect to have to be so vigilant, so on mission, so ready. I wanted my life to be easier, but alas, that's not life in 2021.


So, here are my thoughts:


1. There are two sides to every story. We should be able to hear both sides and if we aren't, we should seek to find the 2nd side.


2. If there is no 2nd side, we should be concerned. It's logically not possible that out of billions of people, there is only ONE viewpoint, story, or experience.


3. We should be allowed to make our own conclusions from all the evidence, not told what to believe.


4. We should have the freedom to disagree with one another. It doesn't make either person wrong, they are simply stating their OPINION.


5. Asking questions, seeking answers, and doing research is NOT bad. Don't slap a label on people simply for being curious. It's how we learn.


6. Censorship is scary in all forms. I should be allowed to read, listen, watch whatever I deem appropriate for my family. As is, I already have boundaries on all of these behaviors. You don't get to pick for me.


I know that these points don't form a major point or revolutionary idea, but I do think they are ideas to be pondered and questioned and prayed over. We must be vigilant, ready, and on mission.


Christians, read your Bible. Pray. Bring your doubts and fears to God. Learn about His character. Watch how similar issues to 2021's issues play out in books like Daniel and Isaiah. Read how Jesus handles his haters in Matthew. Turn off your TVs. Check social media once a day with the purposes of sharing encouragement and connecting with people in love. Go memorize Scripture with your kids. Talk about the hard things. Remember your God. Hold tight to the fact that Jesus is coming back and let that drive you to share the Good News with others. When He comes back, every knee will bow, be it in judgement or worship. May we bring as many people with us as we can. The world needs Jesus right now. They are hurting and scared and plain ole freaking out. Let's be on mission, friends. Don't get distracted.


Love you!

139 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

A year ago today

I have been nervously anticipating today... this season. What will the waves of grief be like? Will I reflect in gratitude? Will I see how God carries me still? Can I humbly accept whatever He gives o

Lord willing

I typically share on Instagram and Facebook and copy it to this blog. But sometimes I forget and then, all of a sudden, it seems my blog has missed a lot. A lot. March 25th, we found out we were expec

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page