top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalie Eskew

The Eskew's Foster


We always said we would love to foster and/or adopt. But when does an idea turn into reality?


After Brynnen was born, I knew God was going to have to give me a heart for what was next... a 3rd bio child, fostering, or adoption.


Two years later, we set up a meeting with our church’s foster/adoption ministry. We left with me leaning towards adoption and Tim leaning towards foster care.


My issue was that I was pro-baby. I wasn’t pro-family and pro-reunification. You see, foster care is for the family of origin. It’s not for us. It’s for them. I just couldn’t wrap my head around putting the biological family before what I wanted.


So, we waited. We prayed.

God changed my heart and prepared our family in ways we are just beginning to understand.


Tonight, we finish our 25 hours of foster care training. We still have more to do before we can open our home, like home studies, and paperwork, and tests... BUT...


We are...

Pro-family

Pro-reunification

Pro-getting too attached

Pro-having pieces of our hearts in many homes

Pro-tears + snuggles + sleepless nights + healing + love

We are pro-love.


This is not a “good for y’all, I could never do that” thing. This is a “I hit my limit with initial paperwork and every single breath I take in this process is God’s.” We aren’t special. We aren’t different than you. God is sustaining us and we couldn’t be more thankful to witness His great love for us.


More to come.

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A year ago today

I have been nervously anticipating today... this season. What will the waves of grief be like? Will I reflect in gratitude? Will I see how God carries me still? Can I humbly accept whatever He gives o

Lord willing

I typically share on Instagram and Facebook and copy it to this blog. But sometimes I forget and then, all of a sudden, it seems my blog has missed a lot. A lot. March 25th, we found out we were expec

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page