top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalie Eskew

Seeing home clearly

“Mom, this house feels like our home.”


It’s true. This week, we’ve been able to unpack boxes and get more of our cleaned items. Our new gifted couch arrived. The donated bedroom sets are up. The gifted sheets, chairs, rugs, trash cans, and all the other little things it takes to make a house function are coming in. The girls have gifted Christmas trees in their rooms. Honestly, I can’t even keep track of just how many items we’ve been gifted. It’s truly overwhelming.


I had a friend say to me recently (before all this) “Doesn’t that just make you feel like God’s favored child?” Yes, yes it does.


God truly never leaves us. He sees us. He hears our wants and needs, our longings. He knows the best course of action. He wants only the best for us. Even in the middle of what seems really messy, I have zero doubt of His goodness. And now that another part of the journey (because there is still more) is coming to a close, I can’t help but see all the things I took for granted.


A place my girls feel safe to play freely and imaginatively.

The quiet to read entire books in one sitting.

Rooms to peek into and watch them sleep.

A stove to simmer bone broth.

An oven to bake my bread.

A driveway to color with chalk.

A backyard to view the squirrels.

A couch to sit beside my husband and hold his hand.

A bed all 5 of us fit in.


Y’all, life really is good. Amidst feeling terrible, amidst the unknowns, the struggles, the fears, and the normal day to day difficulties, life is just really, really good.


In our Advent devo yesterday, we talked about Christ being the light of the world and what light does to the darkness. We landed on this… “what you think you can see in the dark becomes clear when you truly see it in the light. Jesus makes us see clearly.”


Thank you, Lord, for giving me eyes to see clearly.


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A year ago today

I have been nervously anticipating today... this season. What will the waves of grief be like? Will I reflect in gratitude? Will I see how God carries me still? Can I humbly accept whatever He gives o

Lord willing

I typically share on Instagram and Facebook and copy it to this blog. But sometimes I forget and then, all of a sudden, it seems my blog has missed a lot. A lot. March 25th, we found out we were expec

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page