top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalie Eskew

Little Lady #3 + Tip for YOU


22 weeks today and measuring around 1 lb. I feel kicks all the time and officially everyone in the family has felt at least one or two. It’s truly incredible to watch my big girls’ faces react. Calista speaks to her as if she’s already here. Brynnen makes sure she’s not squishing her as she climbs in my lap. It’s an unexpected joy.


We go back in 4 weeks to see if the cyst on her brain has disappeared. Pray with us that it has. They have assured me it doesn’t affect her development and they don’t believe it’s connected to anything serious. My brain has run the full gamut of emotions and thoughts, but I’m trusting God.


The comments I receive have changed from “you are barely showing” to “WOW, your belly is getting so big.” This is typical of a pregnancy for me. I have a VERY small torso, so where does the baby go??? OUT. If you didn’t follow me through my previous pregnancies, I typically gain 46-50 lbs and I look like I’m carrying twins around 28 weeks. It’s sooooo fun (yes, that is sarcasm) to field the questions and comments.

So, here’s my tip for you. We have been very careful to speak openly and confidently about my body changing in front of the girls. After all, they will most likely be mothers and I want them to rejoice in the process. We have changed the language of “your belly is so big!” TO “your baby is getting so big!” I have noticed that this small switch from my belly (commenting on my size that I can only do so much to control) to the mention of this miracle growing inside of me, this change has made a world of difference. I don’t feel as self-conscious. I immediately praise God for her life and my ability to carry her. It’s a small, but very major change.


Will you try this next time you feel the need to comment on a friend’s baby belly?

49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A year ago today

I have been nervously anticipating today... this season. What will the waves of grief be like? Will I reflect in gratitude? Will I see how God carries me still? Can I humbly accept whatever He gives o

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page