top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalie Eskew

God’s will over our plans

Little Eskew #3 due May 2021


Eskew Party of 5

“The heart of a man plans his way, but the LORD establishes His steps.” Proverbs 16:9


How fitting that this is the first verse we memorized for homeschool this year. It kept bouncing around in my mind as our fostering journey continued... about how God knows the timing of our children. How God knows best.


You see, Tim and I have always wanted 3-5 kids. Yes, I’m going to get personal here. 😘We’ve always known that our family would be a mix of biological and adopted children. So, we started 2020 trying to have baby #3. When my immunotherapy shots were increasing, we felt it was dangerous to be pregnant, then Covid happened, so we stopped. A few months later, we started the fostering process. As of now, we are still on the waitlist for homestudies and approval and then a placement. Could be December/January or even later. God provided a van. We finished the nursery. We’re ready.


Or so we thought. 😂


So, here we are... we are waiting on our first foster placement AND God has blessed us with a precious biological child too.

The gift, the abundance of it all, it’s not lost on us. We weren’t even sure I could get pregnant with all the stress on my body and the fact that I’m missing an ovary. (TMI?) Anyway, I may have even had a mild anxiety attack... like didn’t sleep for 2 days because we pretty much went from 2 to 4 kids.


On with the adventure... God always knows better than we do, so I will trust Him to establish our steps. To be there when I feel inadequate and to hold us all up when it’s hard.


“Oh, taste and see that the LORD is good! Blessed is the man who takes refuge in him!” Psalm 34:8


P.S. I realize that this announcement comes during Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness month and for you mamas that are waiting or grieving, I grieve with you. I am here for you.

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A year ago today

I have been nervously anticipating today... this season. What will the waves of grief be like? Will I reflect in gratitude? Will I see how God carries me still? Can I humbly accept whatever He gives o

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page