top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalie Eskew

Summer Splash (aka School)


Summer Splash has begun!!! (Shhh… it’s actually school 😘)


My big girls NEED me to be intentional. From outdoor free play to purposeful conversation, I could tell that they’ve been struggling since baby sister was born. So…


Enter Summer Splash.

The logistics:

•Monday through Friday for 30 minutes at the same time each day. We are doing 11AM and I set an alarm for 10:55. When it goes off, we grab what we need and gather together.

•Each week we follow the same calendar.

Monday Math

Tuesday Read Aloud

Wednesday Phonics

Thursday Read

Friday Art


For math today we read one of our fave Usborne books. (I can connect you with my rep if you need help.) We will be reviewing last year’s Masterbooks level 1 too.


Our Read Aloud criteria is chapters! We are starting Little House on the Prairie tomorrow and will continue through the series. Previous readings have been books 1-4 of the Chronicles of Narnia, The Boxcar Children, etc.


We follow The Ordinary Parents’ Guide to Teaching Reading from The Well-Trained Mind. We will be reviewing all the lessons we learned last year.


For our Thursday reading, I’ve selected educational books and classics. We are creating a wooden ruler to measure each foot of books we read. When we stack our completed books up to a foot, we get ice cream and $5 to spend at Dollar Tree.


Friday art will be free YouTube videos. We have special “school paints” that aren’t for play.


We are following this all through July and school starts the 2nd week of August.


Are you doing “summer school”?

Do you like hearing tips like these?

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A year ago today

I have been nervously anticipating today... this season. What will the waves of grief be like? Will I reflect in gratitude? Will I see how God carries me still? Can I humbly accept whatever He gives o

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page