top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalie Eskew

I am JUST a mom

There’s no “just” about it.


I’m just the one who:

loves

disciples

comforts

corrects

disiciplines

teaches boundaries

demonstrates boundaries

shares Jesus

points them to Jesus

reminds them of God’s promises

reads

teaches them to cook

shows them how to care for items

demonstrates loving our neighbors

is a safe place

wipes tears

wipes butts 🤪

holds them

is home

teaches them to resolve conflicts

helps them dream and wonder

plays

laughs

tickles

snuggles


This may be a long list, but it’s not even a quarter of what I do each day with my 3 girls. There is no “just” about it and I’m sick of culture telling me that by stepping back from work and the hustle that I’m somehow less than. It takes courage and strength to choose the “small” life. To choose to serve your family rather than make a name for yourself. To choose to pour yourself out and trust God to fill you up. To have faith that this is the work that matters.


Being a mother is a privilege and while I know there are many ways to do it, and I don’t knock anyone for choosing their own path, I’m just so tired of women who choose the homemaker route feeling less than, put down, and left out. You, mama, are deep in the work of serving, loving, and building little lives. It’s very important work. Dare I say, the MOST important work.




19 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A year ago today

I have been nervously anticipating today... this season. What will the waves of grief be like? Will I reflect in gratitude? Will I see how God carries me still? Can I humbly accept whatever He gives o

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page