top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalie Eskew

But where does it come from?

As I come up on 30 days of fasting from social media, I keep asking myself this question, “But where does it come from?”


My desire to build an online business- but where does it come from? Is it because God is showing me that way of provision OR is it because I see “her” people doing it?


My constant assessing of our homeschool life- but where does it come from? Is it because I truly need to tweak and grow our lesson plan OR is it because “her” homeschool plan looks better than mine?


My dissatisfaction with the length of my postpartum journey- but where does it come from? Is it because I’m not doing something I should be doing OR because I’m coveting “her” seemingly effortless journey back to her usual clothes?


My feelings of being “not enough” or fear of falling behind- but where does it come from? Is it because I’m not obeying God OR because I’m so busy seeing ”her” journey that I can’t see mine with open eyes, hands, and heart?


It boils down to comparison. Social media is a great tool to connect and keep up with friends, BUT even at its best, I have discovered that seeing what other people are doing each day (out of the context of their circumstances and life) has left me making decisions and having feelings about things that aren’t for me, YET, or maybe ever.


Just because she had an online business, doesn’t mean you should.

Just because her homeschool plan is WAY more organized and detailed and artsy than yours doesn’t mean yours sucks.

Just because her clothes are cuter than yours doesn’t mean your a hag. (Talking to myself here.)

Just because she’s doing what you want to do doesn’t mean it’s not for you ever.


But where does it come from?

Does it come from serving where God has you NOW or does it come from looking out at the world?


In order to get where you are going, you must be where you are today, at this very moment.




Recent Posts

See All

A year ago today

I have been nervously anticipating today... this season. What will the waves of grief be like? Will I reflect in gratitude? Will I see how God carries me still? Can I humbly accept whatever He gives o

Lord willing

I typically share on Instagram and Facebook and copy it to this blog. But sometimes I forget and then, all of a sudden, it seems my blog has missed a lot. A lot. March 25th, we found out we were expec

Dear new homeschool mama,

For all you mamas out there praying about embarking on a homeschool journey, I have some words of encouragement for you. First off, bravo! Bravo for being brave and doing hard things. For trusting the

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page